Vice: Banana Cake

I think I said that any post categorized as “Vice” would have chocolate in it. I lied. I forgot about some of my favorite warm weather desserts that don’t have chocolate in them but are so good it doesn’t matter.

I found myself with an abundance of bananas one day having overestimated how many the twins would eat. I decided to make a  banana cake and found this amazing recipe for the lightest, most amazing banana cake I’ve ever had. The only difference between this recipe and the way I prepare it is to use a cream cheese frosting instead of the brown sugar butter cream… though I’m sure that is fabulous as well.

Here is the recipe from How to Cook Like Your Grandmother which is a great blog. The author Drew Kime uses photos and step-by-step instructions that make preparing this cake (and other things) really easy.

My cream cheese frosting recipe is:

Ingredients

  • 2 packages of 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3 cups SIFTED confectioners sugar*
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

If you prefer a frosting that is more tart than sweet reduce to 2 cups of confectioners sugar

Directions

  • Absolutely, positively be sure to sift the confectioners sugar. This makes all the difference between gritty, sand-like frosting and smooth, creamy frosting. If you don’t have a sifter you can use a strainer, though the sifter is ideal.
  • Cream together the cream cheese and butter
  • Mix in vanilla
  • Gradually mix in confectioners sugar until frosting is creamy

You will need to refrigerate this frosting, and of course the cake itself after you’ve frosted it.

Leave a comment